It Happened One Night

A recent article that I read at one of my fellow wordpress blogger’s site, reminded me of an unusual experience that I had 2-3 months ago when I had just entered my new house. This was something I had never experienced before.

It was the first night that I had spent in our new house. My husband and son had fallen asleep and I was laying on my right side. I was still awake and could see their silhouettes in the dim light. All of a sudden I felt this really heavy entity pinning me down. It felt like a huge weight on the entire left side of my body. I couldn’t move or talk. This was slightly different from the sleep paralysis I experienced occasionally as a teenager. During sleep paralysis, you are awake and can hear and see everything, but you just can’t move or talk. A few really deep breaths can pull you out of it and help normalize you.

I tried the deep breaths, but to no avail. All along aware of this weight (that I kept trying to push away but couldn’t), I mentally called my husband’s name repeatedly. But of course he couldn’t hear my internal cries for help. I felt stifled under the weight and terrified that this was just not going to go away. (Is this what it feels like to be buried alive under a ton of wreckage?)

More than normal time had gone by and it didn’t seem like this weight was going anywhere. Desperate I turned to….God. (Duh! Why didn’t I think of this before)?

I remembered Krishna (Hindu God). I mentally chanted:

Krishna. Nothing happened

Krishna a second time. 50% of the weight was gone.

Krishna a third time. 100% of the weight was gone.

I made sure not to sleep on my right side for the next 2 months and also to remember Him more often than when I was being crushed.

I really don’t know what to make of this. Hopefully this might help connect the dots.

I shared this incident with my mom and dad about. My mom told me a certain practice that her mom follows even today on a daily basis. Each morning before she eats or drinks anything, she sprinkles around a few drops of her tea.

Now in majority of Hindu households a prayer service is performed prior to entering a new house. This helps remove negative energies and awaken the positive ones. At the end of the prayer service, the holy Ganges water is supposed to be sprinkled in every room of the entire house.

I put this task off and then completely forgot about it as our movers had arrived with a truckload of our household items. I got occupied with unpacking and all the fun chores that go along with a move.

It still didn’t hit me until later that evening when I finally got a chance to grab the vessel and started sprinkling the water.

I made sure to sprinkle extra holy water at my bedside, making sure not to miss a nook or cranny.

I was terrified to go to bed that night, but so far so good. I can only try to make sense of my terrifying experience. I don’t think we’ll ever really know.

It is common practice in India to make donations of food, drink and clothing articles to help remove negative energy from one’s aura/life. Feeding barley to the birds and also feeding the fish helps remove negativity that may arise from the dragon head and dragon tail. I will address this in detail in a future article.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sorayah (Yamyah)
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 19:18:26

    I read your post twice before commenting on it. I dont know if this will help or not, i wanted to say that my mother experienced the exact same thing many years ago, before i was even born. They lived in an old house, one night she was laying in bed and she felt this heavy weight pounce on her chest and mid body. She said she couldnt move or speak, tried to call her parents, but could only but make faint mumbling. She said it lifted off her for a few seconds to only pounce on her a second time. Eventually she felt brave enough, and managed to move her arm as if wanting to reach out for whatever was laying on top of her and at that moment it lifted off. Other things happened in that place, eventually they found out that what was causing such disruption was a stubborn, grounded spirit of a man who used to own that house a century or so ago and apparently had been seen by previous tenants, he refused to move on in belief the house was still his, put it that way, so would attack those who were more sensitive to energy. I’d suggest smudging the bedroom and the house. It was good intuition of you to speak Krishna’s name too, i often speak mantras during astral projection when i feel negative entities near by. Love and blessings ~

    Reply

  2. yachna
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 20:08:09

    Thanks Sorayah. This is a brand new house built in a brand new community. I do believe it is some sort of angry spirit.

    Reply

  3. ritubansal
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 20:30:27

    chanting gayatri mantras,before departing for sleep is a good habit..

    Reply

    • yachna
      Jan 21, 2012 @ 07:09:59

      I am pretty religious and I do chant Gayatri and Mahamrityunjay, but during the move my routine was very erratic. But yeah..should definitely increase the chants.

      Reply

  4. Surbhi
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 20:52:43

    Hi there! I had the same experience although I was at my mom’s place that time.I couldn’t move my legs and then I recited Hanuman Chalisa and it was gone. I think everybody should know Hanuman Chalisa as I believe Lord Hanuman has the power to ward off any evil spirit. God bless you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Manisha Koirala

Knowing Me!

Divine Spice Box

Mix of Food, Art and Passion

srimadbhagavatamblog

one-pointed devotion is the easiest path to Narayan

Framed Recipes

- Tried, tested and framed

Cooking in Mexico

Cooking, eating, recipes and food happenings in Mexico

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

PASSIONATE TRAVELLERS

It is not down in any map; true places never are. ~Herman Melville

