Some Practical Thoughts on Meditation

Meditation and its benefits have been known for centuries. Its revival also takes place from time to time. It has been a part of everyday life in many eastern cultures and is used for general purposes as well as for specific needs. For some it is a path to reach immortal bliss. For seekers of knowledge, meditative hours have provided sudden flashes of solutions. For many it is a key in unlocking the secrets of human nature as well as understanding the complex hidden secrets of Universe. No wonder it has been used by thinkers, writers, politicians, scientists, mathematicians and also by ancient eastern medicine.

Recently it has been in high light with western medicine, and has been accepted as a supplementary tool for added benefits. It is becoming a popular activity for everyday life with positive and satisfactory results for many. Many more are fascinated by its mystic appeal and seek some sort of magical, out-of-this-world mystic experience.

Meditation is also of two kinds: action and inaction. In one we actively engage in a process which elevates the consciousness to the point of liberating it. Guided meditation is one of the method for it.  In the other we do nothing at all but simply watch the flow of our thoughts in mindfulness and allow the consciousness to liberate and detach itself in silent inactivity.

Some meditation styles, such as mantra repetition, tend to train for focused or concentrated attention, while others, such as mindfulness meditation, tend to expand one’s attention capacities.

What one wants out of meditation is really as important as doing it. How deep one goes in his or her chosen path and with what goals is determined by your own capability and desire. Like anything else, having unrealistic expectations will bring only frustration and dissatisfaction.

I am also like millions of people who were fascinated and curious about it. Took Yoga and meditation classes and read about it as much as I could. I must admit reading and contemplating is my way of sorting out my confusions.

As I came to know more and more about meditation and other spiritual practices I realized that for people like me, choosing an active way of meditation is more suitable. To make it a way of life I have to structure it according to my own needs.

Our life is made up of small things, our problems are everyday life problems and we seek simple every day solutions that we can manage. So before setting up any lofty goals, why not use meditation for improving upon our weaknesses that prevent us from living our day to day satisfactory life.

For instant if I plan to do ten things in a day, but by the end of day only five things get done, with meditative awareness I realize my weakness of overestimating my capability. So as a small goal, I choose to meditate on a chore of my following day activity that either I wish to perform because it is really important to do or I wish to do simply because I like it. Next day I watch my routine to see if I have success. To my surprise at the end of the day I have done everything but the intended task! Since small things do not present matter of life and death choices or urgencies, no harm is done and very easily, without giving in to any sense of failure or frustration, I plan to finish the intended work the next day.  But the fact that I was able to notice my failure tells me that I can improve upon my performance with meditative skills where mind instead of wandering with scattered aims and desires focuses all its energies in accomplishing what I had set out to do previous night.

I still fail and I still work towards improving myself. If the goal is bigger than what I can handle I take time to pray and to seek for added strength until I am persistent and confident enough to finish whatever I have set out to accomplish.This is just a small example of living meditative life.

While sitting quietly with eyes closed to ward off outer distractions is considered the best way to practice meditation. One can use any activity for meditative exercise. Like doing a small sequence of yogic posture or cooking a dish with full attention without the interference of T.V. , phone or any other distraction. With regular practice of meditation in your chosen form, mind becomes calm and attentive and remains undisturbed at its inner core in failure or success.

Meditation is all about contemplating and focusing the attention of mind and guiding it to stay on desired course. More you practice more you can get attuned and balanced in your everyday life and your mind will not betray you in hour of your weakness or at the time of unexpected crises. You would be able to guide yourself with clear discernment in choosing what is important and letting go of the rest.

Kaivalya Upanishad talks about three great tools in realizing your greater self:

Faith, Devotion and Meditation.

Incorporating these in your everyday life is highest form of Yoga.

This Yoga cultivates skill in action and opens door for realizing your highest potential. This meditative yoga is a finest tool available for fruitful and productive living.

Yoga and meditation are not life-denying affairs. One doesn’t have to retire from active life, give up the world and go to hills or become a recluse. It is important to recognize your heart’s call. Though God realization is considered the highest goal of human life in meditation and yogic tradition, many steps need to be taken before to purify our hearts and minds. The discipline of Tapasya (sincere austerity) that one does for God realization starts with small efforts. As Lord Krishna says in Bhagavad Geeta:  ‘There is no effort lost in that journey’. Any sincere practice can be used to train yourself successfully for larger goals. So take small steps and watch this ancient knowledge bring positive changes in your personal development and consequently in your life.

Today’s guest article is by Savita Tyagi, who is also my mother-in-law. Below is some information about her in her own words.

“I was born and raised in India and came to reside in U.S. after marriage. It wasn’t until my children grew up that I turned back to my love of reading and writing again. This time medium was a foreign language- English. Somewhere along the way I went back to my roots. Though I mostly write in English, I devote considerable time reading ancient Vedic literature and have come to love Sanskrit verses. To this day this ancient as well as new age poetry draws me with same passion. This fusion and enrichment some times reflects in whatever little I have been able to write and share with you.”

You an also visit her blog at :

http://whenthoughtsgetwings.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Manisha Koirala

Knowing Me!

Divine Spice Box

Mix of Food, Art and Passion

srimadbhagavatamblog

one-pointed devotion is the easiest path to Narayan

Framed Recipes

- Tried, tested and framed

Cooking in Mexico

Cooking, eating, recipes and food happenings in Mexico

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

PASSIONATE TRAVELLERS

It is not down in any map; true places never are. ~Herman Melville

