Sure-fire Antidote For Vertigo

Two weeks ago I got exposed to some cold weather and also made the mistake of consuming cold food which just doesn’t suit me. (If I bite into a cold sandwich I get congested within minutes.)

My head felt completely jammed and heavy and I ended up with vertigo. Usually an episode leaves me bedridden  for 24 hours or so but this recent episode was different. It lasted about 2 weeks and I was mobile but had to be careful not to make any sudden movements, look up or down or lie down on either side.  So while it left me feeling  spaced out and disoriented ,  it didn’t interfere with my travel plans and other social obligations and familial responsibilities during the Christmas season. I don’t have vertigo often, maybe once every 5 years and I know my triggers ( strong smells like those in cleaning solutions  bleach, alcohol etc and exposure to cold winds and consumption of too much cold food).

When I finally got time to take care of myself I tried different natural remedies like performing mudra for vertigo and drinking and eating herbs, food and drinks (cloves, ginger, nutmeg etc) that are inherently as well as temperature warm/hot. My symptoms did improve but very slowly and not completely, so I decided to go with the sesame oil treatment which I should have done sooner, but kept putting off. With my little finger I  coated the inside of my ears with sesame oil as far as it could reach into both my ears. I also coated my nostrils making sure to breathe in deeply few times and gave myself a facial lymphatic drainage massage with it too. This helps clear the sinus congestion really fast.  (My husband once had a really bad cold which refused to leave. I convinced him to allow me to give him the sesame oil lymphatic drainage massage followed by hot towel compresses and after just one treatment he was completely fine.) Following just two applications and massages over a 24 hour period, there was 100% improvement in my vertigo. I also ate 10 almonds in the morning and 10 at night. Almonds help counter excess kapha and vata which cause vertigo.

Using organic cold pressed sesame oil is recommended, but I used what I had in my pantry which was the dark sesame oil used in Chinese recipes 🙂

paranthasesame

yachnayoga.wordpress.com

Sesame oil is extremely hot in nature and is hailed for its many benefits in Ayurveda. I resumed including them in my daily diet at least for the rest of winter. Toasting  white sesame seeds until they release oil and sprinkling a teaspoon them on toast, bagels vegetable etc or adding them when baking or making rotis, paranthas etc are a great way to include them in your diet.  You can learn more about the benefits of sesame seed here.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skyler3308
    Mar 05, 2017 @ 13:43:36

    Hi… can u tell me more about facial massage you mentioned above? I have vertigo too.. like you when i have ice cream in winter, too much coffee , chocolate … and bleach smell…this is my 2nd week this time … 😦

    Reply

    • yachna
      Mar 05, 2017 @ 14:08:00

      Hi Skyler. It would be best to watch facial lymphatic drainage massage on you tube. Just type in the search terms and watch a few videos. Go with the one you like best. Just as a picture is worth a thousand words, a video is worth a thousand pictures ;). One more point I need to add to my article is also eat almonds. Have 5-10 almonds in the morning and 5-10 at night. They will eat up all the kapha/mucus and also soothe the vata (too much air) and help get rid of the vertigo sooner. So sesame oil in nostrils and eating almonds. Avoid foods that increase kapha (all cold foods). Try to incorporate toasted sesame seeds in your meals. I like to toast some in a pan until fragrant and golden and keep it aside. Sprinkle a small amount on bagels, soups, sandwiches etc. But in moderation. Never overdo anything.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Manisha Koirala

Knowing Me!

Divine Spice Box

Mix of Food, Art and Passion

srimadbhagavatamblog

one-pointed devotion is the easiest path to Narayan

Framed Recipes

- Tried, tested and framed

Cooking in Mexico

Cooking, eating, recipes and food happenings in Mexico

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

PASSIONATE TRAVELLERS

It is not down in any map; true places never are. ~Herman Melville

